Komm zurück in die Arme des liebenden Vaters 

The commandments and associated sins

(Exodus 20:3-17)

The First Commandment: 

You shall have no other gods before me.

Idolatry, greed, covetousness, love of money, complaining, not loving God with all your heart, tempting God, high-mindedness, disobedience, witchcraft, lover of self, putting family, friends, job, or anything else above God including food, money, sports, TV, Internet pornography, evil movies, cars, attachment to riches or material goods and dozens of other things.

The Second Commandment:

You shall not make for yourself a carved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth. You shall not bow down to them or serve them, for I the Lord your God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children to the third and the fourth generation of those who hate me, but showing steadfast love to thousands of those who love me and keep my commandments.

The Third Commandment:  You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain, for the Lord will not hold him guiltless who takes his name in vain, irreverent use of God’s Word.

Cursing, swearing, blaspheming, irreverent use of God’s name in humor, taking communion or the Lord’s Supper in a careless manner or unworthily, careless use of God’s name, euphemisms like “geez, gosh, oh my God” etc.

The Fourth Commandment: Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.  Six days you shall labour, and do all your work, but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God…For in six days the Lord made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested on the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy.

The Fifth Commandment: Honor your father and your mother.

The Sixth Commandment: You shall not murder.

Murder, anger, hate, rage, rioting, striker, unforgiving heart, wrath, unmerciful, despitefulness, arguing, abortion, rivalries

The Seventh Commandment: You shall not commit adultery.  

Adultery, sexual immorality, crude joking, defiling the body, homosexuality, sensuality, impurity, tempting others sexually, inordinate passion, corrupt language, pornography, vulgar or crude jokes.

The Eighth Commandment:  You shall not steal.

Stealing, bribery, cheating, gambling,

The Ninth Commandment: You shall not bear false witness against your neighbour.

Lying, gossiping, slandering, spreading rumors, deceit, breaking promises, craftiness, hypocrisy, dishonesty, whisperers, idle words, double-tongued, bragging, boasting, flattery,

The Tenth Commandment:  You shall not covet your neighbour’s house; you shall not covet your neighbour’s wife, or his male servant, or his female servant, or his ox, or his donkey, or anything that is your neighbour’s.

Coveting, envy, lust, jealousy, drunkenness, drug abuse, materialism, attachment to riches or material goods, desire for money, desire for power, desire for sex (relating to sexual immorality), desiring things of others, flirting or playing with temptation.

Sin is the transgression of the Law of God (1 John 3:4) as John writes “Everyone who makes a practice of sinning also practices lawlessness; sin is lawlessness.” 

We are all sinners, even those who have been saved as Paul says “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” (Rom 3:23) and “the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Rom 6:23).

The good news is that “God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us” (Rom 5:8) and “while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son” (Rom 5:11a).  Jesus solved our sin problem by becoming sin for us so that for those who have repented and trusted in Him can be seen as having the same righteousness as Christ does (2 Cor 5:21) but if not, we still have the wrath of God on us (John 3:18b, 3:36b).